What people think of Nelson Gay

"“I fell in love with Nelson Gay without any reservation, a complete love affair with the place”"

We had a simply, heavenly, wonderful time. It is my sincerest hope that I'm able to come back more than once a year, and even on occasion stay there for more than a week - perhaps even a month. It would be nice to be good and regular customers at your wonderful home. Your beautiful pool is a stunning addition. Nelson Gay simply reeks of Old Barbados in the very, very best way. Nelson Gay is representative of the very, very best of Barbados tradition. It's a beautiful old house, kept going, without any of the so-called 'modernizations' - the beautiful old bathrooms, the scent of the corral stone and tropical gardens; all of it weaves a magical spell that is not found in houses that have been updated with newer structure.

Douglas Urbanski, (Hollywood Film Producer)

"Great Place for the Family"

Nelson Gay was perfect for our three-generation family reunion, ranging in age from two and a half to 79. The staff were very friendly, efficient and discreet. We had the beach to ourselves, but also used the large heated pool a lot. The property is well proportioned and well maintained.

Stayed: October 2018

"Magical family holiday in the most perfect setting"

I had set the bar very high for a special family holiday to celebrate a significant birthday and I was not disappointed. If anything the villa, the setting and the friendliness of the staff surpassed my expectations and made this a holiday we will not forget. The villa is stunning with ample space for a large family party, we were all able to have space to be on our own if needed, the interconnecting rooms and bathrooms made child uper vision easy and the older members of the group had privacy in the chattel houses and cottage .... a perfect arrangement. The pool was well maintained and was well used by all, the access to the beach was easy ( and kept safe by a gate so no children wandered unsupervised. The sea was warm and perfect for snorkelling, even the little ones saw fish. The food prepared by the chefs was delicious and they coped very well with our dietary requirements! Outings were planned and taxis arranged by Blue Sky which made the whole process very relaxed. We actually only went on 2 because the villa and surroundings were so marvellous we did not need to venture out. Overall the best holiday ever.

Stayed: August 2018

"Fabulous villa, beautiful setting, made all the more special by the wonderful team who look after your every need"

We absolutely loved our 10 days at Nelson Gay! The villa is just beautiful with the most idyllic setting overlooking the beach just south of Speightstown. The bedrooms have the most comfortable beds - great sumptuous mattress toppers and top quality bed linen - and whilst the bathrooms may not be the most modern, they are very effective. Add then the friendly and attentive staff to this perfect set-up and you really do have a fabulous holiday. Tyrone and Winston cooked wonderful meals for us, sourcing the best quality ingredients and pitching the flavouring to perfection. They had lots of ideas which we readily embraced - Bajan themed night, Mexican, lavish bbqs etc and despite us eating out at Tides, Lone Star and the Fishpot, our best meals on the holiday were those at Nelson Gay. They organised a steel band for our last night at the villa, and the owner kindly paid for half the band fee and very thoughtful and impressive birthday cakes for 2 of the children who had their birthdays whilst we were there. Billy and Shauntell were always so welcoming and attentive , and when Kerry took over as security in the evening, he was also the right balance of discrete and yet caring to step in if needed - he went above and beyond keeping an eye on the smaller children when we went out for the evening , and fixing AC issues very quickly for us. The owner phoned me personally to check everything was good. And the team at Blue Sky Luxury were equally happy, friendly, welcoming and attentive. And even when we left Nelson Gay to spend our final week in another large villa down the coast (sadly Nelson Gay was already booked for that week) , the team assisted us on a couple of wine and grocery matters and hand delivered an item we had left behind to our new villa. The superb service at Nelson Gay was accentuated even more when we discovered the complete opposite at the new villa (St Helena) where there was a complete lack of friendliness and attentive service. We missed Nelson Gay and the fabulous team there so much during our final week on the island!

Stayed: July 2018

"The pictures don't do it justice because you can't feel the ambiance"

The home is so wonderful because the staff makes it that way. Nelson Gay has character and is well appointed. It has wonderful outdoor space and everything is available for your pleasure and relaxation. Thank you so much for sharing Nelson Gay with us and allowing us to enjoy a fantastic, relaxing week.

Stayed: March 2018

"Fantastic!"

Charming and relaxing. Right on the beach. Staff is wonderful. Short walks too restaurants and nite life. Explored just about the whole island. If there is someplace nicer we did not find it. We had 12 in our group and had more than enough room for all of us.

Stayed: February 2018

"Paradise Found!!!"

The house and staff were perfect. The location is spectacular. The concierge took care of our every need. We have happy memories to last a lifetime. Thank you everyone associated with Nelson Gay. We will be back!

Family from London, Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

"The pictures don't do it justice because you can't feel the ambiance"

The home is so wonderful because the staff makes it that way. Nelson Gay has character and is well appointed. It has wonderful outdoor space and everything is available for your pleasure and relaxation. Thank you so much for sharing Nelson Gay with us and allowing us to enjoy a fantastic, relaxing week.

Sheriff Family, Reviewed for a stay in March 2018

"A week in paradise for multiple generations"

We stayed here as a family of three generations. Every aspect of the visit was perfect for each generation. From the pool, to the beach, to the luxury of the accommodations, the meals, and the excellent indulging staff all were satisfied. The villa is a classic historical modernized villa with all the amenities one could wish for. The beach was great for the little ones as it was very calm. There were coral reefs about 100 yards out that provided snorkelling excitement--sea turtles and tropical fish. Every need was taken care of. I think our parting words with one of the staff summed up the attention we were given. As we were packing to leave, one of the staff asked us if we had any dirty clothes to be washed before we left. We replied that we could wait until we arrived home. Her reply "no one leaves Nelson Gay with dirty clothes.

South Carolina Family, Reviewed February 2, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

"A Little Bit of Heaven on Earth"

There were 16 of us plus an infant. Our visit to Nelson Gay was exquisite! The staff were all phenomenal and attended to our every need. The food was excellent, the accommodations were excellent, and the weather was perfect. We loved swimming in both the pool and ocean. Snorkelling was terrific and the local monkeys provided entertainment. We all would recommend Nelson Gay for anyone looking for a get-away vacation. Thanks again for providing such lasting memories from all of us. BEST VACATION EVER!!!

Dianne, Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

"A glorious villa in a sensational position with the best staff in Barbados"

Nelson Gay has a timeless charm and draws visitors into its embrace. From the moment you are greeted by the entire staff until the sad time when you have to bid them all farewell, you are guaranteed the most memorable experience. The position of the estate is ideal - on a beautiful (often virtually private) beach but within easy walking distance of an attractive town in one direction and Cobblers Cove in the other. The bedrooms are light and airy: and we lunched and dined out of doors throughout our stay. The food is delicious - with optional menus offering plenty of suggestions as well as the opportunity to go off-piste. Returning visitors to Barbados know what to expect in terms of the marvellous welcome and the opportunities to attempt the full range of sports and touring: or opt to do absolutely nothing except soak up the sun and wallow in the matchless sea. With its charming grounds, Nelson Gay provides a delightful base. Our party of nine enjoyed the most wonderful holiday.

David A, Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

"Heavenly Oasis"

Party of 6 adults. Everything was perfect. The staff are attentive but not invasive. The food was wonderful, simple and wholesome as per our request. The gardens are a delightful oasis. Beach access is superb and private. We ate out twice in 2 weeks and on reflection shouldn't have bothered as we didn't find anywhere with the ambience and quality of Nelson Gay. If you need to relax in beautiful surroundings with your family and friends do it here - there is something for everyone. The media room was a hit for the younger ones on hot days. The beach water sports are outside the back gate. The garden has good shade and privacy. The pool (which we had heated) was therapeutic. Billy makes the best rum punch. Thanks to all for making our stay so special.

Party from London, Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

"Wonderful experience"

It was a wonderful experience. What you see on the photos is what you get. The house is big, high ceilings, has great size of rooms, space and nice atmosphere. The pool is heated, the garden is beautiful, with a variety of trees, bushes, flowers beautiful. Access right at the beach with a sunset corner to have your drink while admiring the sun set. The staff is welcoming, warm, professional. They were there when needed and knew how to be discreet. You feel at home for your stay.

Katrina, Switzerland, Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

"All you need and more for a wedding venue!"

We decided to book Nelson Gay for our wedding week, and it did not disappoint! It was only a small wedding of 11, so we were able to have all our family and friends stay with us for the week, as well as hold the wedding on the immaculate property. The chattle house provided the perfect amount of privacy for the bride and groom, and was beautifully decorated as a surprise on the night of the wedding. Shauntel, Billy, Tyrone, Winston and the rest of the staff were so wonderful, and quickly felt like part of the family! The food was absolutely incredible, some of the best meals we've had, and Billy's rum punch definitely lived up to the expectiations from other reviews! The fridge was always fully stocked with beer, and we were even provided a cooler so we could have drinks down by the beach. The Blue Sky staff were very helpful in organizing excursions, airport transportation, car hires, and last minute wedding prep such as having the dresses and suits professionally pressed. Between the closet full of board games, and the water sports chest by the beach, there was never a dull moment! The staff were extremely accommodating and worked with the wedding coordinator to ensure our special day was perfect! Our stay was made even more special on the last evening when we were surprised with a BBQ and a live Reggae performance! This is the perfect versatile property for any type of holiday; whether it be with family or friends, to host an event, or just relax, Nelson Gay is the place for you!

Alice F - (5 Stars Trip Advisor)